sarahkeenihan

Day -3. Jelly

In August 2012 on August 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm

I’ve made some jelly for the kids. Although I bought the ‘no artificial flavours and colours option’, I still grapple with the lack of nutritional value in this dessert. On a whim, I threw in some strawberries and raspberries. Yes, fibre and vitamins. But more sugar too. I can’t decide if this is a healthier option or not.

I found the CSIRO Total Wellbeing diet includes a recipe for jelly with fruit, but they use the low-joule version. For some reason I don’t like artificial sweeteners though.

Looking for more information, I searched on Pub Med Central – and found 2 interesting articles. The first, describes ‘Supersweet’,  a public database of 8000 sweet molecules. The second tackles the neurobiology of sugar cravings.

Think I’ll stick with very occasional full sugar jelly with added fruit.

Leave a Reply

