sarahkeenihan

Day 3. Inspiration

In August 2012 on August 15, 2012 at 6:07 am

Hanging out the washing, I had a moment of panic. OH MY GIDDY AUNT, I’M A PLAGIARIST.

It suddenly occurred to me that the title of this project had been inadvertantly stolen from science writer Mags Lum’s Chemistry 365 blog.

I rang her in a panic. Fortunately, she laughed me off, insisting that the 365 nominer was reasonably common; other examples include 365 Days of Craft, Future Ready 365 and Clouds 365 Project Blog. Word Press also run a Post a Day challenge.

In the end, I’m not quite sure what seeded the idea in my head. I keep thinking about Greg Ham and how the allegedly stolen flute riff in I Come From the Land Down Under had brought him down. It’s crazy to expect an artist to work in a vacuum and not take inspiration from the world of music around him. For the sake of my credibility, I really hope it was the world of blogging which inspired me, and not the damned Samuel L. Jackson ad for a gambling website which appeared on the TV during the Olympics.

[Image thanks to wollombi on flickr]

  1. Made me think of “Steal like an artist” by Austin Kleon. The premise is that nothing is truly original – it’s what you do with it that is the creative bit. So, you stole like an artist.

    http://www.austinkleon.com/2011/03/30/how-to-steal-like-an-artist-and-9-other-things-nobody-told-me/

  2. That’s cool, thanks!

Leave a Reply

