sarahkeenihan

Day 43. A postcard to Durham

In September 2012 on September 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Today I mailed the postcard featured in this photograph. Written on the back was the following:

Dear Karyn and the ScienceOnline team,

Gudday from Adelaide, Australia!

We’re thrilled to be a part of the ScienceOnline global community, and are looking forward to participating in #scio13.

One day we may meet in the flesh, but in the meantime see you online.

With best wishes from

@scioADEL @sciencesarah @kristinalford @heatherbray6 @JB_blogs @realkez @fang and our interstate colleagues @scientistmags and @upulie

Why? It’s ScienceOnline Project Postcard!

Because ScienceOnlineAdelaide is gathering momentum.

  1. Great work to you and colleagues for getting SciO Adelaide going! I went to the SO gathering in NC in 2009 and loved meeting so many sci writers and communicators (not always the same thing!) from around the world.
    I had thought about starting an group in Victoria to follow the NC conference but I’ve been getting stuck into a new uni degree instead. So i’ll be following your involvement with interest

  2. Hi Steve, so were you a science writer/communicator already prior to starting your new degree? Thanks for the comment. Sarah

  3. Hi Sarah, I’ve been busy with assignments, sorry for the slow reply! I was working in London from late 2008 to early 2010, mainly contracting in media relations/comms. One of the contract jobs was for Faculty of 1000 (post-publication peer review), which was pushing into the US market and wanted me to attend a few conferences there.

    My science knowledge was limited back then but I worked on relationship building, so the SO conference was perfect for meeting science communicators – some of whom could help me publicise F1000 and others who were just great to meet in person. I also went to the World Conference of Science Journalists in London and a few smaller social media-focused events in London and Oxford.

    Now that I’m undertaking a REAL science degree, I can see how much it would have made a difference – it was harder to be taken seriously by academics when I struggled to understand and interpret their research. There was a saying in journalism that we were minor experts on a wide variety of subjects – medical science was one area I (personally) found this not to be true!

    • Hi Steve,
      That’s really interesting, thanks for the info.
      Wonder if you’ll stick with the pure research game, or end up in a communication role in the end? A bit or both would be nice, eh?
      Cheers,
      Sarah

      • Both would be great if I can manage it – depending on what jobs are out there when I finish! So many good research topics to think about, particularly in conservation of fish stocks

Leave a Reply

