sarahkeenihan

Day 64. Family

In October 2012 on October 15, 2012 at 5:52 pm

I’m in Perth to visit my uncle, who’s going through a harrowing course of chemotherapy for cancer of the oesophagus.

It’s a bastard of a tumour, and a part of me feels a bit of a failure on behalf of science and medicine that we still don’t have adequate tools and treatments to detect and treat cancer.

But I’m going to look on the bright side. Perth is a beautiful city, and it’s filled with my relatives.

I’m delighting in having time to spend with my cousins’ children, and seeing how familiar genes have an impact across generations.

Having a break from the work and home routine, and my own 3 feisty children will do us all the world of good.

Spending a few quiet days with my husband reminds me that we should organise more weekends away.

So here’s a big shout-out to the importance of family, and kicking some cancery butt.

  1. Je suis d’accord

Leave a Reply

