sarahkeenihan

Day 92. The persistence of yellow

In November 2012 on November 12, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Working in science generates beautiful friendships.

Today I’m missing my friend Mazie.

Mazie is an epidemiologist with whom I worked on a malaria research project in Jakarta, Indonesia from 2000-late 2002.

Mazie is gentle and caring and subtle and occasionally, hilariously wicked.  She comes from a wonderful large family, one of 5 siblings all of whom have the letter ‘Z’ in their name.

Mazie now lives in Washington DC, working in research. Her husband flies in and out of Afghanistan on humanitarian work. They have 3 children.

My daughter is named after Mazie.

When I was going through a rough patch in Jakarta, Mazie bought me a book called The Persistence of Yellow – a book of recipes for life. Here’s a poem (#204) from it:

You ask me how things work. I think of endless cycles, the hum and spin of everything. So I tell you this: hold the pale green stalk up high. And then run hard so the wind will catch the wings of the dandelion seeds. Let them fall like sparks, like stars, back to the earth. I can tell you are not satisfied. But really. That’s all there is to it: The persistence of yellow.

Every year as Christmas approaches I wish the original Mazie and I could hang out again. Perhaps 2013 will be the year we can travel.

Leave a Reply

