sarahkeenihan

Day 103. More reading

In November 2012 on November 23, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Two days ago I was focused on academic reading.

Then this post from Brain Pickings describing the best science reads of 2012 got me thinking bigger.  How I would love to buy all those books and sit on an island for a year to read in peace.

Life being as it is however, I thought instead I’d collate my own top ten science and nature reads (across my life). I’ve left out blogs and other electronic publications; these are all printed old-style books.

  1. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    Rebecca Skloot
  2. Love and the Platypus
    Nicholas Drayson
  3. A Short History of Nearly Everything
    Bill Bryson
  4. The Best American Science and Nature Writing series
    (started collecting these in 2000)
    published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  5. The Dark Lady of DNA
    Brenda Maddox
  6. Art Forms in Nature, The Prints of Ernst Haeckel
    Olaf Breidbach
  7. On Food and Cooking, The Science and Lore of the Kitchen
    Harold McGee
  8. Alexander’s Outing
    Pamela Allen
  9. The Adventure series
    Willard Price
  10. Myeloid Antigen Cell Populations in the Murine Uterus
    Sarah Hudson

Yes, ok, that last one was written by me. I couldn’t resist the chance to drum up a bit of rare exposure for my dust-collecting thesis.

What are your favourite science reads?

[photo thanks to busyPrinting on flickr]

  1. “Trick or Treatment? Alternative Medicine on Trial”. Very enlightening. Also loved The Dark Lady of DNA. Very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

