sarahkeenihan

Day 113. Sitting and standing

In December 2012 on December 3, 2012 at 6:01 pm

photo-3

This is my desk.

A recent heavier-than-usual workload and associated increased hours at the laptop has left me with a twinging sciatic nerve and an aching fixed-in-the-position-of-mouse-use right arm.

Too much sitting!

Then today I noted author Rebecca Skloot (she of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks) posted a note on twitter about her desk set-up

Since earlier post saying I use a treadmill desk, I’ve been flooded w requests 4 info. So I posted details here w/pics: http://www.facebook.com/notes/rebecca-skloot/treadmill-desk-evangalism/10151207525657928

Take a look at the link. It shows and describes how Rebecca has set up her home office with a treadmill and associated computer station so she can walk whilst writing.

A recent article at New York Times “Taking a Stand for Office Ergonomics” also discussed the topic.

I think I’m going to have to investigate this further.

  1. […] being upright has on our health (as mentioned by Lucy and Nilofer, and as I touched on briefly in Sitting and standing), the walking meeting can change the way people interact. Avoiding the ‘face-off’ […]

  2. […] to tackle some work. It felt wrong; too much sitting! The knowledge from previous posts – see here and here – was making me […]

  3. […] written several times previously (Sitting and standing, Making a stand, The walking meeting) on my urge to make the standing desk a part of my working […]

  4. […] I’ve written previously about the need to sit less in several posts: Sitting and standing, Making a stand, and The walking […]

Leave a Reply

