sarahkeenihan

Day 133. Ten legs a-squidding

In December 2012 on December 23, 2012 at 10:45 am

squid

On the 10th day of Christmas, ScienceforLife gave to me:

*At the risk of losing friends, I admit I am somewhat obsessed with those 10-legged sea creatures known as squid. The image shown here is of one of my most treasured possessions, a small ceramic bowl featuring a hovering blue/green squid surrounded by chromatophore-like spots.  The bowl was a gift from a friend. Highlights in my twitter and Facebook feeds over 2012 revealed vampire squid, changing colours in squid skin (set to music), the piglet squid, reminiscent of Gonzo from the Muppets and the tantalising news that in 2013 Discovery will broadcast footage of a live giant squid. My family and I are hoping to catch and eat a few Yorke Peninsula squid over the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

