sarahkeenihan

Day 157. Paris!

In January 2013 on January 16, 2013 at 7:20 am

3022960966_09a1a3049b_n

Paris, je suis la!

I’m staying with my sister and brother-in-law in the most divine apartment in the fourteenth arrondissement. Over the next 8 days we plan to eat, shop and prepare for the imminent arrival of my new niece/nephew.

But enough trivia, how about some science?

As I look out of the apartment window – in between snow flurries I might add – I can see the dome of l’Observatoire de Paris Perreault Building, a major site of astronomical observation and the architecture of which dates back to 1667.

A short walk up the road leads me to the Catacombs of Paris, established at the end of the 18th century in order to control the spread of infectious disease from The Cemetery of the Innocent.

If I jogged 1 kilometre towards the river Seine I’d be at Le Jardin de Plantes, equivalent to a botanical garden, and part of Paris’ Natural History Museum complex.

This is going to be fun.

[image thanks to zaps06 on flickr]

Leave a Reply

