sarahkeenihan

Day 196. Unusual inspiration

In february 2013 on February 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm

inspiration
Inspiration comes from the strangest places.

About 8 months ago I started following Defined Image on Facebook, a community page run by personal styling-and-then-some guru Natalie Tucker.

Natalie has the knack of communication. Every day, she posts an image of herself, and tells a simple but effective tale –  how her outfit has been pulled together and what sentimental value some of her clothing items hold. With apparent effortlessness, Natalie always pulls me in to read her stories of styling and life.

When I started ScienceforLife.365, I applied two techniques that I learnt from this amazing lady:

  1. The power of a fantastic image;
  2. People want to read about people, and hear their stories.

Today I attended an afternoon workshop with Natalie, and met her for the first time. She is a true professional, and runs a business founded strongly on the perfect combination of training, acquired knowledge and confidence in her abilities.

Not unlike the practice of science, really.

[image thanks to Seth1492 on flickr]

  1. I follow Natalie on Facebook too and love her narrative. Much as I’ve enjoyed your ideas and links on twitter Sarah. I can’t believe I’ve only just found your blog. I’m looking forward to checking out more of your posts. X

  2. Hi Cat,
    Yes Nat is fantastic, and has a wicked sense of humour in real life, she was a delight to meet.
    Thanks for the comment, and I hope you enjoy my blog.
    Cheers for now,
    Sarah

  3. […] Unusual inspiration (Day 196) […]

Leave a Reply

