sarahkeenihan

Day 207. Always tired

In March 2013 on March 7, 2013 at 3:37 pm

sleeping

I’m becoming a master of the short task.

Working from home on relatively small writing projects suits the way my brain works. It also fits in with juggling other commitments, most of which are child-related.

But I haven’t always been this way. In the late 1990s, I managed to fully and successfully immerse myself in creating a 20, 000+ word manifesto of immunology, my PhD. It took me four years from start to finish. I also wrote papers, I read long books; hell, I even listened to whole days of conference presentations and made sense of new information.

What’s changed about me?

Sleep. I don’t get enough.

Yesterdays Adelaide Writer’s Week 2013 session The Subjects: Story Telling in Extreme Environments described the impact of disrupted sleep on the creative activity of four artists Fee, Thom, Jennifer and Sean.

For writer Jennifer Mills

 “the sleep deprivation was quite something remarkable for me”

“I was writing, I was thinking, but I was not making sense, not making art”

“my short-term memory was terrible, I told the same story over and over again”.

Phew, it’s not just me then.

[photo thanks to aeu04117 on flickr]

Leave a Reply

