sarahkeenihan

Day 208. International Women’s Day

In March 2013 on March 8, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Photo on 8-03-13 at 2.48 PM #2

Today is International Women’s Day, when we celebrate the economic, political and social achievements of women past, present and future.

I’ve been thinking about some of my own achievements, and reflecting how lucky I am.

  • I have three children. They were born safely, they are strong-willed, they are smart. I hope they continue to enjoy good physical and mental health into the future. 
  • I have a husband. He is sensitive, caring, supportive, a listener and loyal.
  • I have chosen to be the predominant at-home parent in my house. I mostly enjoy this. I also am frustrated by this at least once every day. 
  • I have parents and siblings. I have parents-in-law and siblings-in-law. They are all excellent people. We help each other. 
  • I have the freedom to make financial decisions in my household. This makes me feel secure.
  • I cook because I’m damned good at it. I also want my children to eat well and know the value of ‘slow food’. 
  • I work because I’m damned good at it. Also, my brain needs it, it makes a financial difference in my household and I like to have my own daily agenda. 
  • I undertake random, frenzied tidying-up blitzes in my home because doing mindless work helps me to think, and I like the end result. Of cleaning and thinking. 
  • I wash clothes because…actually, the machine in my laundry does it. I am grateful for this. 
  • I run because it makes me feel free and strong. And it deals with the few bits and pieces I eat but don’t actually need in a nutritional sense.

Is my life perfect? No.

Do all women around the world enjoy the freedoms that I have? No.

Do I want to achieve more? Yes.

Am I an equal with the men in my world? Sometimes. Not always.

How can we help women around the world achieve what they want in economic, political and social terms –  in Australia but more urgently in other places where inequality is stifling? I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

