sarahkeenihan

Day 330. When physics meets Tina Arena

In July 2013 on July 9, 2013 at 2:25 pm

collide

Have you ever had a hankering to get sub-atomic particles and force them to race around a 27km-long tunnel close to the speed of light and see what happens when they collide?

Yeah, me too!

Scientists at CERN (also known as European Council for Nuclear Research) actually do this. They hope that by doing so they will get a better grip on the rules of our universe, why particles and atoms (and hence everything) behave the way they do.

Basically, it boils down to the questions:

What is stuff?

And why is stuff so, well, you know…..stuffy? 

I don’t know the answer, but plenty of people think the Higgs boson particle discovered about a year ago is somehow involved.

But that’s not the real reason I brought all this up. What I really want to do is share this hilarious CERN version of Tina Arena’s song Burn, which was compiled by Renée Webster in honour of the RealScientists team (since curator Marga was a lucky visitor to CERN last week).

Here it is, The Cern Song:

Do you wanna be a particle, and collide?
Do you wanna be a neutrino, faster than light?
Do you wanna be a physicist, and win the Nobel?
Do you wanna meson to muon?
Do you wanna plasma, quark and gluon?
Or whoosh around the 27 k tunnel?

Be anyone you want to be

Bring to life your fantasies
But I want something in return
I want you to CERN, CERN for me baby
Like a candle in my night
Oh CERN
CERN for me
CERN for me

Are you gonna be a proton, and get smashed?

Are you gonna be a boson, and give mass?
Or go to Scotland and touch Higgs’ face?
Are you gonna be an strange, charm flavour quark ?
Are you gonna tell us, what is matter dark?
Or a test
Of supersymmetry

Ill lay down on your standard model

Offer up my safety goggles
But in return
I want you to CERN
CERN for me baby
Like a candle in my night
Oh CERN, CERN for me, CERN for me
Yeah
Ooh
I want you to CERN baby ooh

Laugh for me

Cry for me
Pray for me
Lie for me
Live for me
Die for me
I want you to CERN
CERN for me baby
Like a candle in my night
Oh CERN, CERN for me, CERN for me

Tell me scientists aren’t hilarious! Go on….

[image thanks to Robert Scoble on flickr]

Leave a Reply

