sarahkeenihan

Day 331. My real CV

In July 2013 on July 9, 2013 at 9:05 pm

CV

Just now I read this truly realistic CV of a scientist.

I thought it’d be fun to write my own:

Hi, my name is Sarah Keenihan, and I’m a science writer. I love to read and write about many different kinds of science, and the people involved in it.

In an ideal world, I’d be set up in a sun-lit office with a comfortable chair for thinking and a standing desk for writing. I’d write from 7am to 3pm each day, and then prepare a leisurely and nutritionally-balanced meal.

In reality, I have a small wooden desk to which I dash back and forth over the course of a day. When I have a new idea, I hammer out some thoughts and walk away. Most of my thinking I do on my feet. I return sporadically to my desk to edit and rewrite. I am a caterer, with sandwiches and quick slap-up kid-friendly dinners my speciality. I am a juggler of laundry. I am a runner and a walker, sometimes to set destinations, sometimes just to burn off steam. I am a manager of three personalities in addition to my own – a sensitive and social 10 year-old, a musical and efficient 8 year-old and a temperamental and hilarious 3-year old. I have extraordinary skills in reading, signing and filing school notices. I do reading in classrooms and sometimes I boss other people’s kids around when they irritate me. Between 3-5pm each day, I drive, I watch balls of various sizes, I see kids swim up and down a pool and I load and unload enormous bags from the back of my car.

I finish writing most of my articles once the kitchen is clean and the house is silent from about 9pm.

If you are still interested in my professional activities, please click here.

[Image thanks to the italian voice on flickr]

Leave a Reply

