sarahkeenihan

Day 342. Playing on the see-saw

In July 2013 on July 19, 2013 at 10:58 am

seesaw

I like to play on the see-saw.

I sit on one end, and encourage others to join me. We mess about, adding and subtracting children and toys, varying the ends at which we sit, and our positions along the axis.

It wobbles up and down, occasionally hitting the ground hard, sometimes sending us sky high but usually hovering at or around the horizontal position.

My life feels like that.

Having learnt that I operate best mentally and intellectually when I’m busy, I have loaded up my life see-saw. Three  children, part-time work, various unpaid work-like activities (which I love), exercise, other hobbies, a social life and shoe shopping.

It’s a precarious balance that works most of the time. We wobble around parallel to the ground and are happy.

Sometimes a big fat monster climbs onto one end of our see saw. The creature is an illness, an extra work deadline or an emotional challenge for a parent or child.

BANG.

We hit the ground. We try not to panic. We rearrange the various weights at each end of the see-saw. Sometimes, the balance tips the other way.

But eventually, we’re back on even ground again.

I’m scared what might happen when a really big challenge rocks my world. But I’ll deal with that when it comes, I guess.

[image thanks to kIdonnelly on flickr]

Leave a Reply

