sarahkeenihan

Day 361. What’s next?

In August 2013 on August 7, 2013 at 10:06 am

whatsnext

I started ScienceforLife.365 in August 2012 for many reasons.

I felt the urge to share how my daily life was shaped by my education in and love of science.

I wanted to get into the habit of writing every day.

I was looking to develop the ways I thought about science, and the communication of it.

I hoped to expand my skills in presenting ideas to different audiences.

I wanted to get a better grip on how to use blogging, Facebook and twitter as integrated tools for marketing science writing.

I sought to join new online communities to support my move into freelance writing (often a lonely kind of existence).

I am thrilled to have nearly reached a full calendar year of daily blogging, and am delighted to say that I’ve managed to meet all these expectations, plus a few more along the way.

Having said all that, it has been a mammoth task, and one which I cannot sustain at the current pace for much longer.

Therefore, ScienceforLife.365 will enter a new phase beyond National Science Week 2013.

The overall theme will remain the same: how science can frame and inform daily life, with an even sharper focus on daily life. Posts which directly explore the theory and nature of science writing and career development will be posted at my general website or at the ScienceOnlineAdelaide website (in development).

There will be less emphasis on my life. I’d love to present and discuss more stories from and about others, both scientists and non-scientists.

The blog will transition away from a post every day, and become a several-posts-a-week entity.

Each week will feature a guest post. Guest posts are a great way to introduce new perspectives and have been very popular during the first 365 days.

Have you got any ideas that you’d like to see reflected in phase 2 of ScienceforLife.365? Let me know, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

[image thanks to SAN_DRINO on flickr]

  1. I really enjoy reading your blog! I have added it to a list of recommended blogs for these peer awards. You can see the list at: http://unlockingthegate.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/peer-awards/
    Thanks for entertaining and educating me, and keep writing!

  2. Hi Cathy. Thanks so much! Lovely to have your support.

  3. […] Please hang around while have a week or so off, and then please do join me for Phase 2 of ScienceforLife.365. […]

  4. […] some unpaid writing – mostly on this blog. In fact, having a daily commitment to write was one of the reasons for starting the project. Now I’m happy to report that the majority of my writing does provide an […]

Leave a Reply

