sarahkeenihan

Sharing the love

In January 2014, Uncategorized on January 30, 2014 at 5:06 pm

asc screenshot copy

Sarah: Next week I will be sharing the ScienceforLife.365 love at the Australian Science Communicators conference in Brisbane, Australia.

I’ve put together a paper and a 10-minute presentation which describes this blog, and summarises some of the career benefits I believe it has delivered me (in addition – of course – to the personal enjoyment I have derived from the project). You can read my presentation summary here. Hopefully the paper will be available for public viewing after the event as well; I’ll post a link if possible.

I’m also delighted to be co-producing the What is science journalism? session with journalist and author Bianca Nogrady. The subject matter arose following several posts on this blog, as well as discussions we had with a broader audience through the email network of the Australian Science Communicators. We are very fortunate that fabulous radio host Natasha Mitchell will be chairing the session, and supported by an expert sciencey journalistic panel consisting of Jenni Metcalf, Leigh Dayton, Graham Readfearn and Ian Townsend. Stay tuned to @sciencesarah and #ASC14 for coverage if you’re interested.

But wait, there’s more! I’m thrilled to be a co-presenter on a further two presentations at the conference: one on the RealScientists project, and the second around the science twitter chat #onsci.

But the best, best, best part of the conference will be meeting up with people with whom I chat regularly online. Like Kirsti Abbott! Yes, Kirsti who blogs here. Hard to believe, but we have only ever met before on twitter, Facebook, Skype and email.

Gin and tonics and lots of laughs will be happening for sure. In the name of science.

  1. All the best. I hope it goes well.

  2. Thanks Gary! I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

