sarahkeenihan

Blame it on the scientists

In September 2014 on September 25, 2014 at 8:33 pm

disco science

Sarah: “Cause I’m feeling slightly grumpy and more than a little silly, here’s a little climate change disco.

Blame it on the scientists
(my sciencey version of this).

Our planet’s slowly warming, data’s accumulating
The ice caps yeah they’re melting, and that’s no lie
The seas are getting higher, the pH heading southward
Is it time to bid our coral reefs goodbye?

Don’t blame it on our power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the scientists

Don’t blame it on our power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the scientists

We all love to watch TV, and drive direct from A to B
When really what we need is green philosophy
It will change our world completely, why don’t you believe me?
Let’s overhaul the current strategy

Don’t blame it on our power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the scientists

Don’t you blame it on our power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on science, woo

I just can’t, I just can’t
I just can’t control carbon
I just can’t, I just can’t (Yeah)
I just can’t (Woo) control carbon

I just can’t, I just can’t
I just can’t control methane
I just can’t, I just can’t
I just can’t control methane

Power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the scientists

Don’t blame it on the power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame on tree clearing
Blame it on the science

The thrill of science grooves me, the logic yeah it lures me
The devil’s gotten to me through a PhD
I’m full of need for learning, why can’t you come and join me?
Deficit model, it leaves you in a trance

Don’t blame it on the power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the scientists

Don’t you blame it on the power
Don’t blame it on the burning
Don’t blame it on tree clearing
Blame it on the science

Ow (power)
Ooh (burning)
Yeah (tree clearing)
Mmm (science)

You just gotta (power)
Yeah (burning)
(tree clearing)
Goddammit! Don’t blame science

Don’t you blame it (power)
You just gotta (burning)
You just wanna (tree clearing)
It’s so not natural cycles

We measured it with science (power)
Ain’t nothin’ else’s fault (burning)
But us and our consuming (tree clearing)
A century on (cee-oh-two)

It’s coz of human progress (power)
Yes it is our fault! (burning)
Industrialisation (tree clearing)
Lights on all night long (cee-oh-two)

Blame it on yourself (power)
Once more, it’s our fault (burning)
Emissions they need changing (tree clearing)
Can we do it now? (talkin’ ’bout science)

[image thanks to Exploratorium on flickr]

Leave a Reply

