sarahkeenihan

Leave it in the drawer

In October 2015 on October 12, 2015 at 9:54 pm

IMG_7576

Sarah: We’re about to launch into term 4 of the Australian school year.

The past 2 weeks have been work-free and somewhat luxurious, with lots of extended family and friend catchups, and a 6-day trip to Queensland for my husband, myself and our three children.

Northern Australia turned on magnificent clear blue skies and moderate, sunny temperatures. Perfect for swimming, canoeing and runs on the beach.

However the best part of my holiday was that I managed to read two books: The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham, and The Knowledge Wars by Peter Doherty.

I reckon I’ve nailed the sole factor that contributed to me completing these: each morning I put my mobile phone in a drawer, and left it there for most of the day. Minutes and even hours normally spent scrolling, searching, flicking, liking and sharing were instead spent with eyes on paper. And thinking. Occasionally dozing.

It felt so good.

Leave a Reply

