sarahkeenihan

Introducing Kirsti!

In September 2013 on September 24, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Kirsti termite mound

Sarah: Today I’m delighted to introduce Kirsti Abbot, who will now be a regular contributor to ScienceforLife.365. Yay!

Here’s a quick Q&A so you can get to know her a little better:

What keeps you busy? 

I am a mother of 2, a science educator and an ant ecologist currently at University of New England attempting to inspire first year biology students. Previously, I taught core science at Monash University.

What makes you tick? 

I love islands, ants, good coffee and green rooms. I’m a self-confessed biophile.

Do you have science in your life?

Yep! My love for science communication has lead me to studying ants with primary school students, printing ant T-shirts for friends and trying to improve my science storytelling. You can listen to me get excited about invertebrates every month on Creepy but Curious with Kelly Fuller on ABC regional radio.

I’m thrilled to have Kirsti on board, and can’t wait to read her contributions to the blog.

  1. Great to see this blog, look forward to Kirsti’s posts too!

  2. […] up, a joint post from Kirsti and myself, celebrating the fact that we are now officially friends in real life! Stay […]

  3. […] caught up with friends old and new at a conference of the Australian Science Communicators. Meeting Kirsti was a total highlight – I’m laughing out loud remembering the scene we must have made […]

  4. […] in life. Now in its second phase, the blog features weekly contributions from both myself and ecologist/educator Kirsti Abbott. Other guest writers also pop up (and if you have a great idea which would fit under the […]

  5. […] 2 of the blog welcomed the very wonderful Kirsti Abbot as a weekly contributor, and a shift to less frequent posts from me (weekly rather than daily) to […]

  6. […] One of the best things about science is the people you meet. My regular blogging pal Kirsti recently introduced me to Sonja Dominik, a top quality scientist, gold-medal winning gymnast and […]

  7. […] have appeared around once a week, mostly written be me but with fantastic guest contributions from Kirsti Abbott, Mia Cobb, Cameron Webb, Heather Bray, Tiki Swain, Geoff Hudson, Matthew Bowie and several […]

Leave a comment